Our July 2016 New Music Releases roster features an intriguing blend of new music and spiffed-up re-issues by artists such as Blink-182, R.E.M. and Dave Matthews Band, as well as the long-awaited return of D Generation.

The beloved NYC-based garage rock band returns on July 29th with their first album in 17 years, Nothing is Anywhere. “We’ve finally made a record that represents us,” says guitarist and album producer Danny Sage. “We make a really good noise on stage, and this album is a little more snotty, nasty. The needles are in the red a bit more.”

Blink-182 kicks off July with California, their seventh album and first without former guitarist and possible current UFO hunter Tom De Longe. The band has released three songs from the album so far: "Rabbit Hole," "Bored to Death" and "Built This Pool."

Two exciting new records from the heavier side of the spectrum also arrive in July: Big Business returns to their original two-man format for Command Your Weather, and members of Clutch, Fu Manchu and Black Sabbath team up for the self-titled Dunsmuir debut.

Last but not least, Peter Gabriel, R.E.M and the Dave Matthews Band all get in on the reissue game with CD, deluxe vinyl and / or half-speed remastered versions of some of their most popular albums.

We've broken down July's new music releases down week-by-week, so you can be sure to set aside some money for a visit your beloved local retailer. You'll also find links to more detailed stories about some of the biggest albums hitting stores this month.

  • July 1

    Bat for Lashes, The Bride
    Blink-182, California
    David Bowie, I Dig Everything: The Pye Singles 1966

  • July 8

    Aphex Twin, Cheetah
    The Avalanches, Wildflower
    Big Business, Command Your Weather
    David Bowie, 1. Outside (remaster)
    David Bowie, Hours (remaster)
    Echo & the Bunnymen, Nothing Lasts Forever (Live, 2005)
    The Julie Ruin, Hit Reset

  • July 15

    Dave Matthews Band, Crash (Anniversary Edition)
    Dirty Heads, Dirty Heads
    Good Charlotte, Youth Authority
    Heliotropes, Over There That Way
    Modern English, After the Snow (remaster)
    Peter Gabriel, So (half-speed vinyl remaster)
    Peter Gabriel, Us (half-speed vinyl remaster)

  • July 22

    Dunsmuir, Dunsmuir
    Matt Brown, Walk Into the Light
    MSTRKRFT, Operator
    Pylon, Live (1983)

  • July 29

    David Bowie, Earthling (remaster)
    Death Grips, Bottomless Pit
    D Generation, Nothing is Anywhere
    Descendents, Hypercaffium Spazinate
    Heaven 17, 5 Classic Albums (box set)
    Modest Mouse, Night on the Sun (1999 Japan-only EP)
    Ramones, Ramones (40th Anniversary edition)
    R.E.M., Dead Letter Office (re-issue)
    R.E.M., Eponymous (re-issue)
    R.E.M., Life's Rich Pageant (re-issue)
    Simple Minds, New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) (deluxe)
    U.K. Subs, Endangered Species (remastered)

  • August & Beyond

More From Diffuser.fm