M. Ward will return with his first solo album in four years this spring. The indie-folk singer-songwriter will drop More Rain on March 4 via Merge. Ahead of the album’s arrival, Ward has shared “Girl From Conejo Valley,” which you can stream up above.

In a press release, Ward said his latest full-length tackles life in the face of a never-ending news cycle: “I think one of the biggest mysteries of America right now is this: How are we able to process the unending bad news on Page One and then go about our lives the way the Style section portrays us? There must be a place in our brains that allows us to take a bird’s-eye view of humanity, and I think music is good at helping people -- myself included -- go to that place.”

The forthcoming LP features contributions from R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, Neko Case, k.d. lang, the Secret Sisters and NRBQ’s Joey Spampinato. Check out the track list at the bottom of the page; the cover art can be seen in the “Girl From Conejo Valley” video player. You can pre-order the album on CD or vinyl at the Merge website or order a digital download at iTunes.

More Rain marks Ward’s eighth solo effort to date, a follow-up to 2012’s A Wasteland Companion. Since that album, he’s released two She & Him full-lengths (his outfit with singer-actress Zooey Deschanel) in 2013 and 2014, respectively.

Before any tour dates behind More Rain, Ward will join Jenny Lewis on her upcoming Rabbit Fur Coat 10th anniversary tour. Together -- along with the Watson Twins -- they’ll play a two-night residency in L.A. on Jan. 29 and 30; two nights in New York City on Feb. 3 and 4; and one night in Nashville, Tenn., on Feb. 6. Find ticket information at Ward’s website.

More Rain Track List
1. "More Rain"
2. "Pirate Dial"
3. "Time Won't Wait"
4. "Confession"
5. "I'm Listening (Child's Theme)"
6. "Girl from Conejo Valley"
7. "Slow Driving Man"
8. "You're So Good To Me"
9. "Temptation"
10. "Phenomenon"
11. "Little Baby"
12. "I'm Going Higher"

More From Diffuser.fm