Sun Kil Moon's Mark Kozelek was in the news quite a bit last year -- and not just because of his beef with the War on Drugs frontman Adam Granduciel; his acclaimed LP Benji received rave reviews all around. And today (Feb. 19), he has announced Benji's follow-up, Universal Themes, set for release on June 2 via Caldo Verde Recordings.

The new record features Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley and was recorded over the past year in San Francisco and Hoboken, New Jersey.

Universal Themes will include the song "The Possum" (listen below) that was premiered last year, along with its B-side, "Cry Me a River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues." The full track list is below.

Kozelek's next scheduled tour date is on March 15 as he kicks off his spring world tour, although no dates are currently scheduled for the U.S. You can check out his full tour itinerary, from Korea to Australia to Dublin, here.

Universal Themes Track List
1. “The Possum”
2. “Birds of Flims”
3. “With a Sort Of Grace I Walked to the Bathroom to Cry”
4. “Garden Of Lavender”
5. “Cry Me a River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues”
6. “Ali/Spinks 2″
7. “Little Rascals”
8. “This Is My First Day and I’m Indian and I Work at a Gas Station"

Listen to Sun Kil Moon's "The Possum"

The 100 Most Anticipated Albums of 2015

More From