Those plucky scamps in Yeasayer are at it again. As a way of legally leaking the songs from their upcoming album, 'Fragrant World,' the Brooklyn-based indie band have created an internet scavenger hunt.

Yesterday morning (Aug. 1), the band uploaded a scan of a letter to their website about the plan, which they are calling Pre-emptive Self-Commissionded Yeasayer Voerstellung of Track Visualizer (PSCYVOTV). Does that clarify the situation? We didn't think so, either. Here's the full text of the letter.



DATE: 9:24am. Aug. 1. 2012

We have received a message that we are on the verge of embargoed information being leaked through the cracks of the digital universe. Once again an attempt to tell the story before our mouths can spit. In order to have the edge we have created PSCYVOTV standing for PREEMPTIVE SELF-COMMISSIONED YEASAYER VORSTELLUNG or TRACK VISUALIZER.

Using the talents of Yoshi Sodeoka we have created a moving visual for every song on our new album FRAGRANT WORLD and have hidden them all over the internet. The visuals will live on the web until Friday Aug. 3, at 8pm EST. You’ll have a few days to find, listen, and most importantly, hear the album from our hands first. At 8pm sharp PSCYVOTV will be removed.

If you find all the visuals remember the track listing:

1. Fingers Never Bleed
2. Longevity
3. Blue Paper
4. Henrietta
5. Devil and the Deed
6. No Bones
7. Reagan’s Skeleton
8. Demon Road
9. Damaged Goods
10. Folk Hero Schtick
11. Glass of the Microscope

Please remember, it’s fun to share, but more important to support.

*Warning: PSCYVOTV may cure depression or boredom.

So there it is. You can follow their clues via Twitter, which will then lead you to the songs, between now and Aug. 3 at 8PM Eastern, or you can wait until Aug. 20, when 'Fragrant World' is released.